Colorado Law Punishes Gun Owners Who Are Slow to Report Stolen Firearms

The Associated Press
The Associated Press

A law that took effect in Colorado on Tuesday punishes gun owners who fail to report a lost or stolen gun within five days of realizing the firearm is missing.

9News reported that the Isabella Joy Thallas Act took effect Tuesday. It is named after Isabella Joy Thallas, who was fatally shot with a former police officer’s gun on June 10, 2020, while walking her dog in Denver’s Ballpark neighborhood.

The Act requires that gun owners face a fine of $25 for their first failure to report a lost or stolen gun and misdemeanor charges with a fine of up to $500 for the second failure to report.

Colorado Gov. Jared Polis (D) signed the Isabella Joy Thallas Act in mid-April, at which time the Colorado Sun noted that the gun control law did not receive a single Republican vote in the state legislature.

UPI

UPI

Polis also signed House Bill 1106 in mid-April, requiring gun owners to place trigger locks or cables on their guns to lock them when inside the home. HB 106 gives gun owners the option of placing their guns in a “secure container” inside the home as well.

As with the Isabella Joy Thallas Act, Republican lawmakers opposed the passage of HB 106.

AWR Hawkins is an award-winning Second Amendment columnist for Breitbart News and the writer/curator of Down Range with AWR Hawkinsa weekly newsletter focused on all things Second Amendment, also for Breitbart News. He is the political analyst for Armed American Radio. Follow him on Instagram: @awr_hawkins. Reach him at awrhawkins@breitbart.com. You can sign up to get Down Range at breitbart.com/downrange.

.

Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.